FEMS-Lwoff Award

Professor André M. Lwoff (1902-1994)
Professor André M. Lwoff (1902-1994)


The FEMS-Lwoff Award is awarded to a person, or group of persons, preferably working and residing in Europe, for outstanding service to microbiology in Europe. All fields of microbiology are considered.  Winners receive a prize-lecture presented at a FEMS Congress, a medal and an honorarium of EUR 1,000.

Members of FEMS Council, national microbiological societies, scientific groups, or individual microbiologists may nominate a candidate before 10 January in the year in which the Congress will be held, as described in the regulations and nomination details (PDF download link).

The FEMS-Lwoff Award series was initiated in 2000 at FEMS’ 25th Anniversary. It was named in honour of the 1st FEMS President (1974-1976), Professor André M. Lwoff.

FEMS-Lwoff Awardees 2015

Prof. F. Baquero

Professor F. Baquero

Prize Lecture: Transmission: a basic process in Microbiology




Prof R.K. Thauer

Professor R.K. Thauer
Professor R.K. Thauer

Prize Lecture: The microbial methane cycle

Venue: Maastricht, The Netherlands, 6th FEMS Congress
Date: 11 June 2015

FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2013

Prof. Juan Luis Ramos

Professor J.L. Ramos
Professor J.L. Ramos

Prize Lecture: Mechanism of Solvent Tolerance in Gram Negative Bacteria

Venue: Leipzig, Germany, 5th FEMS Congress
Date: 25 July 2013

FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2011

Miroslav Radman
Prize Lecture:
Venue: Geneva, Switzerland, 4th FEMS Congress
Date: 30 June 2011

FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2009

K-H. Schleifer
K.H. Schleifer

Karl-Heinz Schleifer
Prize Lecture:  Classification of Bacteria: From Unicellular Plants to the Age of Genomics
Venue: Gothenburg, Sweden, at the occasion of the 3rd FEMS Congress
Date: 1 July 2009

FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2006

J. Hacker
J. Hacker

Jorg Hacker
Prize Lecture:  Evolution in Microbial Pathogens
Venue: Madrid, Spain, at the occasion of the 2nd FEMS Congress
Date: 6 July 2006

FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2003

Professor Sir David A. Hopwood

Professor Sir D.A. Hopwood

United Kingdom
Prize Lecture:  Streptomyces Genes in Nature and Medicine
Venue: Ljubljana, Slovenia, at the occasion of the 1st FEMS Congress
Date: 2 July 2003


FEMS-Lwoff Awardee 2000

Professor Philippe J. Sansonetti

Professor P.J. Sansonetti

Prize Lecture:  Rupture, invasion and inflammatory destruction of the intestinal barrier by Shigella, making sense of prokaryote-eukaryote cross-talks.
Venue: Sevilla, Spain, at the occasion of the FEMS Jubilee (25th anniversary)
Date: 15 September 2000