FEMS Microbiology Ecology Webinar on Approaches, Methods and Challenges in Microbiome Research

01-12-2021

The continued development of DNA sequencing technologies is providing exciting new capabilities to characterize complex microbial communities in various habitats. This webinar explores some of the new developments and challenges in microbiome research methods and takes a critical look at what we can learn about the inhabitants of diverse microbiomes and their possible functions. Key topics include the concerns with reproducibility and controls in microbiome research, the improvements in Oxford Nanopore long-read sequencing technology, and the role of the microbial rare biosphere.

Click here to register

Date: Wednesday 8th December 2021

Time: 10 am EDT / 3 pm GMT / 4pm CET / 11pm CST

Join us for a webinar on Approaches, Methods and Challenges in Microbiome Research, featuring:

Chair: Max Häggblom, Editor-in-Chief of FEMS Microbiology Ecology

 

 

 

 

Speaker 1: Bastian V H Hornung, Center for Microbiome Analyses and Therapeutics, Leiden University Medical Center, Leiden, The Netherlands

Author of: Issues and current standards of controls in microbiome research, Hornung BVH, Zwittink RD, Kuijper EJ.; FEMS Microbiology Ecology, Volume 95, Issue 5, May 2019, fiz045, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/95/5/fiz045/5435435

 

 

Speaker 2: Lee J. Kerkhof; Department of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University, New Brunswick NJ (USA)

Author of: Is Oxford Nanopore sequencing ready for analyzing complex microbiomes?, Kerkhof LJ; FEMS Microbiology Ecology, Volume 97, Issue 3, March 2021, fiab001, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/97/3/fiab001/6098400

 

Speaker 3 and 4: Francisco Pascoal and Catarina Magalhães, CIIMAR Interdisciplinary Centre of Marine and Environmental Research of the University of Porto (Portugal)

Authors of: The microbial rare biosphere: current concepts, methods and ecological principles, Francisco Pascoal, Rodrigo Costa, Catarina Magalhães; FEMS Microbiology Ecology, Volume 97, Issue 1, January 2021, fiaa227, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/97/1/fiaa227/5974270

This event is part of a series of webinars by FEMS with OUP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Share this news