FEMS Journals Announce Article Award Winners 2020


Five of our FEMS Journals have announced the winners of their Article Awards for 2020.

All Article Award Winners for 2020

The Editors-in-Chief and Editorial Boards of each journal selected the best article from the scientific papers published with them in 2020 and each journal decided to award €1,000 which is split equally between all the authors of the winning paper. The prize money is funded by the income we receive from our journals (which also fund our charitable activities, events, grants, and other awards).

All authors who published with us in these journals in 2020 were automatically considered for an award upon submission of their papers.

The award also includes special attention, from FEMS and our not-for-profit publisher Oxford University Press, devoted to the winning articles to promote the authors’ research. We have contacted all winners of an Article Award and will be releasing a series of in-depth interviews with each winning author/author group about their research and background, so stay tuned for that!

The winners for 2020 are listed below. Our congratulations go to:

FEMS Microbiology Ecology

Megan Morris, Natalie Frixione, Alexander Burkert, Elizabeth Dinsdale and Rachel Vannette | Microbial abundance, composition, and function in nectar are shaped by flower visitor identity

FEMS Microbiology Letters

Lorenzo Nissen, Flavia Casciano and Andrea Gianotti | Intestinal fermentation in vitro models to study food-induced gut microbiota shift: an updated review

FEMS Microbiology Reviews

Michelle Wille and Edward Holmes | Wild birds as reservoirs for diverse and abundant gamma- and deltacoronaviruses

Pathogens and Disease

Cristiano Salata, Arianna Calistri, Cristina Parolin and Giorgio Palù | Coronaviruses: a paradigm of new emerging zoonotic diseases

FEMS Yeast Research

Sophia Tsouka and Vassily Hatzimanikatis| redLips: a comprehensive mechanistic model of the lipid metabolic network of yeast

Check out past winners of the Journal Article Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share this news