FEMS Microbiology Ecology Webinar on Microbes vs Metals

05-04-2021

Microbes have evolved to facilitate a range of metabolic processes via redox reaction pathways using many different metal atoms and ions. From respiration of metallic compounds, to adjusting and responding to their extracellular environment, to merely surviving in extremely metal-polluted habitats, microbes have found ways to incorporate metals into their physiology using a surprising set of mechanisms.

Click here to register

Date: Thursday 8th April 2021
Time: 10 am EDT / 3 pm BST / 16:00 CEST / 22:00 CST

Join us for a webinar on Microbes vs. Metals, featuring:

Chair: Max Häggblom, Editor-in-Chief of FEMS Microbiology Ecology

 

 

 

 

Speaker 1: John F. Stolz, Department of Biological Sciences, Duquesne University. Pittsburgh PA (USA)

Author of: M Wells, JF Stolz. Microbial selenium metabolism: a brief history, biogeochemistry and ecophysiology, FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96: fiaa209, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/96/12/fiaa209/5921172

 

 

Speaker 2: Lucian Staicu, Faculty of Biology, University of Warsaw, Warsaw (Poland)

Author of: LC Staicu et al. PbS biomineralization using cysteine: Bacillus cereus and the sulfur rush. FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96: fiaa151, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/96/9/fiaa151/5881300

 

 

Speaker 3: Valentine Cyriaque, Research Institute for Biosciences, Université de Mons, Mons (Belgium)

Author of: V Cyriaque et al. Metal-induced bacterial interactions promote diversity in river-sediment microbiomes, FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96:fiaa076, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/96/6/fiaa076/5826176

 

Speaker 4: Ronald Oremland, US Geological Survey, Menlo Park CA (USA)

Author of: RS Orelmand. Got Selenium? FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96:fiaa094, doi.org/10.1093/femsec/fiaa094, https://academic.oup.com/femsec/article/96/6/fiaa094/5843721

 


This event is part of a series of webinars by FEMS with OUP and its free to access for all.

Share this news