FEMS Journals Announce Article Award Winners 2021


Our FEMS Journals have announced the winners of their Article Awards for 2021.

All authors who published with us in these journals in 2021 were automatically considered for an award upon submission of their papers.The Editors-in-Chief and Editorial Boards of each journal selected the best article from the scientific papers published with them in 2021 and each journal decided to award €1,000 which is split equally between all the authors of the winning paper. The prize money is funded by the income we receive from our journals (which also fund our charitable activities, events, grants, and other awards).

The award also includes special attention, from FEMS and our not-for-profit publisher Oxford University Press, devoted to the winning articles to promote the authors’ research. We have contacted all winners of an Article Award and will be releasing a series of in-depth interviews with each winning author/author group about their research and background, so stay tuned for that!

The winners for 2021 are listed below. Our congratulations go to:

FEMS Microbiology Ecology

Damien Finn, Benoît Bergk-Pinto, Christina Hazard, Graeme Nicol, Christoph Tebbe and Timothy Vogel | Functional trait relationships demonstrate life strategies in terrestrial prokaryotes


FEMS Microbiology Letters (MiniReview Award)

Gargi Dey and Sohom Mookherjee | Probiotics-targeting new milestones from gut health to mental health


FEMS Microbiology Reviews

Ebony Monson, Alice Trenerry, Jay Laws, Jason Mackenzie and Karla Helbig | Lipid droplets and lipid mediators in viral infection and immunity


Pathogens and Disease

Sebastian Bruchmann, Theresa Feltwell, Julian Parkhill and Francesca Short | Identifying virulence determinants of multidrug-resistant Klebsiella pneumoniae in Galleria mellonella


FEMS Yeast Research

Brigitte Gasser, Özge Ata, Burcu Gündüz Ergün, Patrick Fickers, Lina Heistinger, Diethard Mattanovich and Corinna Rebnegger | What makes Komagataella phaffii non-conventional



Bruno Lemaitre, Alice Marra and Florent Masson | The iron transporter Transferrin 1 mediates homeostasis of the endosymbiotic relationship between Drosophila melanogaster and Spiroplasma poulsonii


FEMS Microbes

Aaron Barnes, Kristi Frank, Jennifer Dale, Dawn Manias, Jennifer Powers and Gary Dunny | Enterococcus faecalis colonizes and forms persistent biofilm microcolonies on undamaged endothelial surfaces in a rabbit endovascular infection model

Check out past winners of the Journal Article Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share this news