FEMS Microbiology Ecology Webinar: Animal Microbiome

21-09-2020

This webinar looks at the fascinating topic of animal microbiomes. Microbial communities living on or in animals affect the physiology and behavior of their hosts. But what exactly is the interplay between these animal microbiomes and the animals themselves?

Register via this link to attend

Date: Thursday 24th September 2020
Time:
10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CEST

Join us for a webinar on the Animal Microbiome, featuring the authors of recent papers in FEMS Microbiology Ecology, with:

Moderator: Max Häggblom, Editor-in-Chief of FEMS Microbiology Ecology

 

 

 

Speaker 1: Nilusha Malmuthuge, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Lethbridge Research and Development Centre, Lethbridge, AB, Canada

Author of: Yang Song, Nilusha Malmuthuge, Fuyong Li, Le Luo Guan. Colostrum feeding shapes the hindgut microbiota of dairy calves during the first 12h of life. FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2019, 95:fiy203, https://doi.org/10.1093/femsec/fiy203

 

Speaker 2: Connie A. Rojas, Department of Integrative Biology, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, USA

Author of: Connie A Rojas, Kay E Holekamp, Andrew D Winters, Kevin R Theis. Body site-specific microbiota reflect sex and age-class among wild spotted hyenas. FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96:fiaa007, https://doi.org/10.1093/femsec/fiaa007

 

Speaker 3: Julian Bär, Division of Infectious Diseases and Hospital Epidemiology, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Author of: Julian Bär, Jacqueline M. Leung, Christina Hansen, P’ng Loke, Alex R. Hall, Laura Conour, Andrea L. Graham. Strong effects of lab-to-field environmental transitions on the bacterial intestinal microbiota of Mus musculus are modulated by Trichuris muris infection. FEMS Microbiology Ecology, 2020, 96:fiaa167, https://doi.org/10.1093/femsec/fiaa167

This event is part of a series of webinars by FEMS with Oxford University Press.

Share this news